Day: April 24, 2024

Apocalyptic Skies

The thick red dust from the sahara desert blanketed the skies over most of Greece.

Orange skies over Athens and most parts of Greece and Cyprus on Tuesday. This is probably the third wave of dust from the sahara desert to cover the skies of Greece over the past few weeks. It’s a very eerie sight, almost apocalyptic, like a scene from the futuristic film Blade runner.

It’s not a common phenomenon in Greece. This was the worst in years. The dust is toxic and terrible for the lungs, and for plants and trees. I only stepped outside for a couple of minutes to take photos and to capture the unique sky. Later on, I was coughing a lot. I have asthma and allergies so people like me are advised to stay indoors. You need to wear a mask if you have to go outside. The dust will slowly go away, but will linger a bit until this Friday.

F.Y.I WordPress has informed me that this is my 14th anniversary on wordpress.

WOW!! Time flies!